If you suffer an injury at work—even if you are at fault—Colorado law entitles you to workers compensation benefits. These benefits can include:
- Medical Care;
- Medical Benefits and Treatment;
- Temporary Partial Disability (compensation for time off work);
- Permanent Disability (compensation for permanent impairment); and
- Penalties (in instances the employer or insurance carrier fail to follow the law.
An injured worker must report an injury to the employer. The employer must notify its insurance provider of the injury within 10 days of the injury. If the injured worker misses more than 3 days of work, the insurer must file a report with the CDLE’s Division of Workers’ Compensation (Colorado Division of Workers Compensation). Employees who are unable to work for at least three days or three shifts may be eligible for a type of wage replacement known as “temporary disability.”
Under Colorado law, an injured worker should be given a choice of two treating physicians once they are injured. If the employer does not deny the claim, the worker may select a doctor from one of two medical providers designated by the employer for treatment. We can assist you with your selection to obtain a physician that is best for your needs.
Many times, the insurance company representing the employer will wrongfully deny the claim or delay the claim through a Notice of Contest. The complicated forms and processes of the worker's compensation system are difficult to navigate. Our firm will help you in the filing of your claim and the award of proper benefits.
Finally, receiving worker’s compensation benefits prohibit you from suing your employer. However, third parties can still be sued for negligence, which is why it is important you consult with an attorney to see what your rights and options are.